P100 Ground Stories: I Just Have to Take One Step at a Time

SOLS 24/7 - Arif during his Level 2 ClassDiagnosed with stage four Ewing’s sarcoma two years ago, Wan Arif Ferdaus Bin Wan Ahmad had never let his bone cancer be a deterrent to live a fulfilling life, reaching for his goals as well as making connections. Even though he has difficulties playing football (his hobby), he has found solace in SOLS 24/7 classes. The eldest of three, he aims to be a good example to his siblings as well as be a good son to his parents – eventually being able to repay the sacrifices and unconditional love and care he had received from them and friends

“One of the most exciting moments in my life was being able to meet Malaysian astronaut Datuk Dr Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor.”

My name is Wan Arif Ferdaus Bin Wan Ahmad; most people call me Wan. I am 11 years old and I live in Batu Gajah. I have a younger brother and a younger sister, whom I love very much.

When I was only 8 years old, I was admitted to the Paediatric Bone Marrow Transplant Ward at the hospital. I have cancer. For two years I had a lot of pain in my left leg; sometimes it would be so painful that it would even wake me up in my sleep. I still experience a lot of pain, day to day. We had to move to Kuala Lumpur for a few years so that I could get good treatment; we are now back in Batu Gajah. I also love playing football. I cannot play it as much as I used to anymore, as I am too sick. One day, I really hurt my leg playing football. Having cancer affects all parts of my life but I still want to have fun whenever I can.

“I really like coming to English classes with Teacher Sarah”

SOLS 24/7 Level 2 Exercises

She is very loud and a good teacher. I miss out on a lot of classes as I often feel very sick and I have to go to the hospital regularly. Yet when I am in class, I try really hard to catch up so I understand what Teacher Sarah is saying. Even though I missed many classes, I graduated in June 2015.

SOLS 24/7 Arif's Graduation Day

I am very thankful that I got to join SOLS 24/7 classes. The teachers make me really happy and are extremely supportive. SOLS 24/7 English classes is somewhere that I can have a lot of fun and forget about my illness for a little while. I love all of the games we play in class. I know my family is glad that I joined these classes as well. This makes me feel good as I know they do so much for me.  Now I go to computer classes which I really like. I enjoy learning how to type and writing stories on the computer – it gives me an escape.

SOLS 24/7 - Arif at Computer Class

There are many things that I want to do when I grow up. Joining SOLS 24/7 has helped me see that maybe I can live my dreams one day. I just have to take one step at a time.

One thought on “P100 Ground Stories: I Just Have to Take One Step at a Time

Leave a comment